Homeless person started spitting on us

I got back from NYC a month ago.

It was my first time back in almost a decade.

I’d been told the homeless problem was getting worse every year.

And this actually happened on my first morning there.

I was eating a pastrami bagel at a shop near my hotel. 

Sitting outside, people-watching. 

And then a homeless person walking by started SPRAY SPITTING at the staff working there.

I ran away to the no-spray-zone and the homeless dude just kept on walking like nothing happened.

But here’s the even crazier part: The staff continued working like nothing happened.

I was shocked.

I brought this up a couple of weeks later with a friend that lives in NYC.

He was like «yeah, I guess we have a lot of homeless people here, haven’t really thought about it that much».

For me, having grown up in a European city with almost no homeless people, I was stunned.

But then it hit me.

People that live in NYC love it so much they don’t care about the issues. 

The pro’s weigh up for the con’s.

They LOVE their city.

And that’s exactly how most people feel about their city, no matter where they live.

And that’s why starting a local newsletter is one of the easiest newsletters to grow to 10K+ subscribers.

You’re writing about something people already love, so you don’t have to compete on the normal media stuff like better journalism and breaking news.

Here’s what I did to grow my local newsletter to 10,000+ subscribers (in a few months):

  1. Post on Reddit to get first 2,000 subs

  2. Paid ads to get to 10,000 subs

And with local ads, you’re usually paying $0.50-1 per subscriber (way below average CPA).

The economics make sense because people are likely to be very interested — even if it kinda sucks.

It’s in my opinion the best low-hanging opportunity for aspiring and existing newsletter operators.

— 

Want us to grow your newsletter with paid ads? Apply to work with us here.

Want to hop on a call to discuss growing your newsletter with paid ads for an hour? Book a paid call here.

How do you feel about this newsletter post?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.